Bitter aftertaste

Shimmering drops still 
Clinging, dripping down 
the window still 
After the rain has ceased. 
.
Several streaks still lined 
On skin from striken eyes traced down, after 
the heart has cried it’s last. 
.
Solitary, swivelling leaf
Fluttering through the silence, 
Grit hung in the wind,
When a storm has come to calm. 
.
Sharp sniffs, suffering breath,
punctuated gasps of air,
Into a quaking spirit,
After its rush and still. 
.
In a minute of silence
and a second of thought
a memory flickers through, then fades,
After a moment of suspended noesis. 
.
Is it but only, an extrapolation?
Or brief contentment in this state?
By the window still, on a rainy day
From the bitter aftertaste
of that cup of coffee 
I drank in haste?

………….

PS: I really have no idea what made me compose this bit, I think I don’t understand the muse that brought this. Yet I feel it’s some inarticulate feeling I’m still to uncover…?

Leave a reply

